Food Additives

Be mindful of additives or ingredients added to foods. Some may contain wheat, rye, or barley. Check every item on the list of ingredients.

Common ingredients that contain gluten:

  • Asafoetida
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Certain dextrins
  • Edible coatings, films, and starches
  • Hydrolyzed plant proteins
  • Maltose
  • Miso
  • Mixed spices
  • Pregelatinized starch
  • Smoke flavoring
  • Soy sauce
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Textured vegetable protein

Many sauces, marinades, and glazes contain soy sauce, which contains gluten. Also, when dining out, soy sauce is a frequent source of hidden gluten. Ask about this when dining out at Asian restaurants, such as Thai, Japanese, Vietnamese, and Chinese restaurants.